Seattle hip-hop duo Shabazz Palaces have announced their fifth album. Titled The Don of Diamond Dreams, the new project will be released on Sub Pop this April. The lead single “Fast Learner” features Purple Tape Nate and is available to stream now; you can listen to it below. Palaces also said they’ll be touring ‘extensively’ in support of the album throughout 2020, though no dates are available at this time.

Formed in 2009 by former Digable Planets member Ishmael Butler and multi-instrumentalist Tendai “Baba” Maraire, Shabazz Palaces self-released two EPs before signing to Sub Pop in 2011. There, they released their debut full-length album, Black Up, to critical acclaim.


1. Portal North: Panthera
2. Ad Ventures
3. Fast Learner (ft. Purple Tape Nate)
4. Wet
5. Chocolate Souffle
6. Portal South: Micah
7. Bad Bitch Walking (ft. Stas THEE Boss)
8. Money Yoga (ft. Darrius)
9. Thanking The Girls
10. Reg Walks By The Looking Glass (ft. Carlos Overall)

Album cover

Set to arrive April 17th, The Don of Diamond Dreams is described on the Sub Pop website as ‘[embodying] a futuristic manifestation of ancient myth, full of robotic vocoder and warped auto-tune, Funkadelic refracted into different dimensions, weird portals and warm nocturnal joy rides alongside the coast (a reflection of it being mixed near the beach in California). The synthesizers are alien but the drums speak a universal language.‘ You can see the track list below, and fans of purple prose can find the full announcement here.

Follow Shabazz Palaces on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, or their official website for further information.

Leave a Reply