Protest The Hero are back, with their fifth album slated to come out this June. The ten-track release, titled Palimpsest, is scheduled to arrive June 19 on Spinefarm Records and will be their first full-length release since 2013’s Volition. The lead single, “The Canary”, is named after Amelia Earhart’s aircraft.

The Canadian quintet ran into problems throughout the writing and recording of the new project, not least of all a vocal strain issue for lead singer Rody Walker. ‘What made it most difficult was the change in my voice,’ he said. ‘During our final tour just before we were set to start recording, I blew my voice out, and it didn’t come back. I spent a long time fighting with it trying to bounce back and failing. Finally, through coaching and rehearsal, I got it back in shape. For the first time in my life singing felt like an actual job and I’m still pissed about it. I have never worked harder to put out music in my life and I am extremely proud of the product.

You can see the full tracklist and listen to “The Canary” below.

Full tracklist

01. The Migrant Mother
02. The Canary
03. From The Sky
04. All Hands
05. The Fireside
06. Soliloquy
07. Reverie
08. Little Snakes
09. Gardenias
10. Rivet

Palimpsest is available for pre-order here. Follow Protest The Hero on Facebook, Twitter, or Instagram for more.

Leave a Reply