Tombs are back, and with a vengeance it seems. It’s been nearly three years since their last full-length release, The Grand Annihilation, and the welcomed return of these super-rustic metal giants comes with some some other good news: the band are now signed to Season of Mist.

Their first recording under this label will come next year and will be titled Monarchy of Shadows. Fortunately, we get a small teaser to make the wait a little less painful. Behold the EP’s title track of the same name, “Monarchy of Shadows”. As you’ll hear, it rips and then some.

Nothing like a one minute-plus of ambient uncertainty to kick things off, and when those explosive riffs, darkly rich vocals and pounding drums kick in, the words ‘it’s good to have them back‘ spring to mind. Operating under the wing of a new label can often make for a refreshed experience, and there is nothing stale about this song. It’s ultra-slamming thrashy black/death excellence to its very core.

Tombs have always been cool, but now they are reinvigorated and levelled-up, with a whole new chapter ahead of them. You’re off to a great start, guys. Can’t wait to hear more of it. Full track list is as follows:

1. “Monarchy of Shadows” (07:32)
2. “Once Falls the Guillotine” (04:44)
3. “Necro Alchemy” (05:47)
4. “Man Behind the Sun” (06:02)
5. “The Dark Rift” (05:58)
6. “Path of Totality (Midnight Sun)” (04:44)

Monarchy of Shadows will be released February 28, via Season of Mist. You can pre-order the album here. In the meantime, check out Tombs‘ back-catalogue at their Spotify and Bandcamp pages! For all other news and info, visit their website and Facebook page.

Leave a Reply