It’s been a while since we have heard from the Swedish melodic death metal outfit Soilwork. Their last LP, The Ride Majestic, was released about three years ago, and presented one of the best metal outings of 2015 in my opinion. Well, the wait is finally over for fans of the band, as today we got the official announcement for a new record, and along with it, a new song! “Arrival” is the first taste of their eleventh LP, Verkligheten. The track sees a quick lead-in, and then dives into some ferocious drumming, courtesy of newcomer Bastian Thusgaard, who joined the band in 2016. Give the track a listen below!

Vocalist Björn “Speed” Strid has always been a reason to listen to Soilwork, as he’s one of the most talented singers in this space. Equally adept at harsh growls and soaring cleans, he can quickly engage you in a song. Also, the instrumentation is top-notch as always, with thumping bass lines and excellent guitar work. Check out the upcoming album’s tracklist that was also provided today!

01. Verkligheten
02. Arrival
03. Bleeder Despoiler
04. Full Moon Shoals
05. The Nurturing Glance
06. When The Universe Spoke
07. Stålfågel
08. The Wolves Are Back In Town
09. Witan
10. The Ageless Whisper
11. Needles And Kin
(feat. Tomi Joutsen of Amorphis)
12. You Aquiver

Verkligheten will be out January 11, 2019, and is already available for pre-order through their label, Nuclear Blast. Be sure to follow Soilwork over on Facebook for more news and updates as we approach the release date!

Leave a Reply