October 25 proclaims the return of UK folk/black metal band Dawn Ray’d, with their latest album Behold Sedition Plainsong. The Liverpool trio will be releasing their third full-length effort via Prosthetic Records, and it will see the world receive ‘a call to arms and a potential catalyst for positive radical change‘, as stated in a recent press release. Clearly, with their politically-powered message thriving at the heart of their work as strongly as ever, you can expect a record with no punches pulled. And we now have a short, yet nonetheless enticing, snippet of what to expect…

Exuding intrigue and passion, the slow-building noise and stark monochrome visuals of opening track “Raise The Flails” offer a rallying cry – ‘It’s time for new tales of resistance’. In a recent tweet, vocalist Simon B offered the insight that this song was written with the intention of inspiring new bouts of resistance against capitalism, with the title itself referring to the symbols used in peasant uprisings during the Middle Ages.

The press release goes on to impart the following regarding the album:

‘Behold Sedition Plainsong comprises of 11 tracks of what will surely become their trademark sound: pure black metal, shot through with sonic flecks of traditional folk. Each song is an emotional response to a political struggle, with a clear focus on ecological destruction and anti-capitalism.

1. Raise The Flails
2. The Smell Of Ancient Dust
3. Like Smoke Into Fog
4. To All, To All, To All!
5. A Time For Courage At The Borderlands
6. Songs In The Key Of Compromise
7. Until The Forge Goes Cold
8. A Stone’s Throw
9. Soon Will Be The Age of Lessons Learnt
10. Salvation Rite
11. The Curse, The Dappled Light

In addition to the impending album release, Dawn Ray’d will also begin touring the UK in its support next week, with a lengthy adventure in Europe alongside False to follow throughout November. Dates are as follows:

13 Sep – Fell Foot Woods, Ulverston
23 Oct – The Black Heart, London
24 Oct – Venue TBC, Sheffield
25 Oct – Stuck On A Name, Nottingham
26 Oct – Rough Trade, Nottingham (Free In Store)
27 Oct – The Pipeline, Brighton
31 Oct – Mother’s Ruin, Bristol
01 Nov – Henry’s Cellar Bar, Edinburgh
2 Nov – Damnation Festival, Leeds
7 Nov – Alte Meierei, Kiel, DE*
8 Nov – Ungdomshuset, Copenhagen, DK*
9 Nov – Mörtelwerk, Leipzig, DE*
10 Nov – Venue TBC, Prague, CZ*

11 Nov – Zukunft am Ostkreuz, Berlin, DE*
12 Nov – Music City, Antwerp, BE*
13 Nov – De Onderbroek, Nijmegen, NL*
14 Nov – PMK, Innsbruck, AT*
15 Nov – Venster 99, Vienna, AT*
16 Nov – Aurora, Budapest, HU*
17 Nov – AKC Attack, Zagreb, CR*
18 Nov – Sub, Graz, AT*
19 Nov – Kochareal, Zurich, CH*
20 Nov – Venue TBC, Clermond Ferrand, FR*
21 Nov – Espace B, Paris, FR*
22 Nov – Jugend Kultur Cafe, Troisdorf, DE*
* = w/ False

You can pre-order Behold Sedition Plainsong here, before the rebellion begins on October 25. For other important news and announcements or for further tour information, pay a visit to Dawn Ray’d’s Facebook and Twitter pages.

Leave a Reply