Sometimes a song catches your ear and leaves a smile on your face. In the case of our latest Everything Is Noise premiere, it fully seduces you (musically and lyrically), leaving you begging for more. Swiss dream/noise rock collective KØDE are the latest musical undertaking of Saskia Fuertes (guitar/vocals, formerly of The Chikitas). Due October 18, their upcoming album Discrete Transformation marks a double debut – their first since joining Division Records last month, as well as their first full-length LP. For now, take a moment out of your day to enjoy an enticing slice of gloomy indie grunge; the premiere of brand new single “Héloïse“.

With its quirky and colourful video showcasing growing intimacy in some unconventional ways, album opener “Héloïse” launches charismatic, provocatively-sung lyrics amidst a wave of attitude-laden indie crunch that sits somewhere between Hole, L7, and Melvins. All of this is infused with gritty touches of noise/garage rock that are really propelled forward by the dirtiest of bass tones.

In a press release, the band shed further light on the idea behind “Héloïse”:

‘You may feel desire and you’d like to be true. You don’t want to have sex as you were taught by TV, Hollywood movies and society, but as a person, as a child who’s never been taught about all this shit. Let’s get rid of what is expected from us. This is what this video is about.‘

For those familiar with Random Zero, their 2017 EP, Discrete Transformation promises a somewhat different outing – both ‘icy and boiling at the same time’. If “Héloïse” is anything to go by, Discrete Transformation is certain to keep listeners coming back for more, with a hefty gravity to its weighty charm. The ten tracks on offer are advertised as ‘hypnotic jewels that unashamedly display KØDE’s immense talent’. With guitars that straddle territory between overwhelmingly heavy and softly punishing, the other musical elements make for a potent mix, capped off by contagious melodies which lodge themselves in the brain. In the hands of Julien Fehlmann’s conscientious production (Unfold, The Ocean, Dirge, among others), KØDE’s is a music that utilises the shifting of mood and intensity as a landmark of their sound: promising that Discrete Transformation will surely become a lifelong favourite for those ensnared by its sultry roughness.

1. Héloïse
2. Time
3. Stars
4. Small little pieces
5. Let it go
6. Kanzeon
7. On your side
8. Fire
9. Water
10. Pointless fights are colors

While you await the release of Discrete Transformation on October 18, why not show KØDE some love on Facebook and YouTube? Better yet, give “Héloïse” another spin, or listen to previous EP Random Zero on Bandcamp for a more sustained fix until the album drops next month!

Leave a Reply